Environmental protection in the Dolomites is a complex issue: some provinces have legal powers in this area, while others do not, and there are many different forms of protection. Of the area making up the nine systems of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, almost all (around 95%) is protected as it is within national, regional or provincial parkland or has a national monument or SCI/SPA status. The Parks belonging to the UNESCO Property are:Dolomiti Bellunesi National Park, Dolomiti d’Ampezzo Natural Park, Dolomiti Friulane Natural Park, Fanes – Senes – Braies Natural Park, Puez – Odle Natural Park, Sciliar – Catinaccio Natural Park, Tre Cime Natural Park, Paneveggio – Pale di San Martino Natural Park, Adamello Brenta Natural Park and the Bletterbach Natural Monument.(source:

The Park, which was established in 1988, covers an area of over 15,000 hectares and lies entirely in the province of Belluno. The Park is bounded by the Cismon river to the west and the Piave river to the east, the Maè river to the north and lower Agordino to the south.

Since the 1200s the Regole, a system of collective ownership, have protected the area of Cortina d’Ampezzo: the institution consists of heads of families who manage the forests and pastures in accordance with the “Laudi”, ancient rules. It is thanks to this institution that the valley has been able to preserve its forestry heritage, part of which was designated a protected area in 1990 and named the Dolomiti d’Ampezzo Natural Park.

The idea of ​​establishing a nature reserve in the western part of the Region Friuli Venezia Giulia was born in 1973 with the document “First Proposals for the establishment of a Park in Alta Valcellina”. Five years later was drafted the Regional Urban Plan which identified the regional areas to be protected and within it was also included this territory field. Finally in 1996, the Region Friuli Venezia Giulia establishes the “Regional Natural Park of the Friulian Dolomites”.

Set up in 1980, the Park covers more than 25,000 hectares in the Badia, Marebbe, Pusteria and Landro valleys, one of the most sparsely populated areas in South Tyrol, with its plateaux and peaks in the northern part of the Dolomites.

The Tre Cime Natural Park is one of the parks of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano. The Park was officially established in 1981 and covers an area of 11,615 hectares, including parts of the municipalities of Dobbiaco, Sesto and San Candido.

The Puez – Odle Natural Park is home to two mountain chains in particular: the Puez and the Odle groups. Designated a protected area in 1978, it was extended in 1999 to include the Rasciesa area (which belongs to the municipality of Ortisei).

The Sciliar – Catinaccio Natural Park was established in 1974 and lies between Alpe di Siusi, Catinaccio and the Tires Valley. Visitors flock to the Park to admire its geological formations even more than its wealth of flora and fauna.

Given the enormous geological importance of the Bletterbach system, in 2005 the Municipality of Aldino created the Bletterbach Geoparc, which stretches from Aldino to Redagno and is truly a geological park within a natural monument.

The Park was established in 1967 and extended twenty years later in 1987. Its aim is to protect its natural landscape and environment. It lies between the mountain streams Cismon, Vanoi and Travignolo in the eastern part of Trentino, on the border with the Veneto region.

Covering an area of over 620 km², the Park encompasses two distinct territories, the Brenta Dolomites group with its sedimentary rock formations, and the Adamello-Presanella granite massif with its vast glaciers.